Home>About us>Governance

BioVale is a not-for-profit company. We are guided and governed by our Steering Group whose members comprise regional industry, small businesses, research organisations, higher education and local government. The Chair of the Steering Group is Professor Deborah Smith, Special Adviser to the Vice Chancellor at the University of York.

Our anaerobic digestion special interest group is also steered and supported by a working group drawn from local industry.

BioVale Steering Group

Christine Parry

Head of Development and Innovation, AB Connect

Charlotte Hill

Research and Innovation Engineer, Drax Group
Simon Brereton

Simon Brereton

Head of Economic Growth, City of York Council

Ian Graham

Director of BioYork, University of York

Will Cannon

Project Development Director, Croda

Julian Davies

Agronomy Director, Stockbridge Technology Centre

Joe Ross

Director, Biorenewables Development Centre

Clive Blacker

Head of Business Development, Map of Ag

James Clark

Director, Green Chemistry Centre of Excellence, University of York

Alex Green

Head of Business, Network Innovation and Inward Investment, Make It York
Katie Thomas

Katie Thomas

Senior Strategy Manager - Low Carbon & Environment, York & North Yorkshire Local Enterprise Partnership

Lucy Hopwood

Company Director & Lead Consultant - Bioenergy & Anerobic Digestion, NNFCC

Kristy Blakeborough

Environment Officer, Drax

Adrian Charlton

Principle Scientist, Fera